Protomartyr sign to Domino, prep new LP (stream “A Private Understanding”)

Posted on

protomartyr

Protomartyr have signed to Domino who will release the band’s fourth album, Relatives in Descent, which is out September 29. (Preorder.) It’s their first LP in two years, and the first since the election, and presents 12 songs about “the unknowable nature of truth, and the existential dread that often accompanies that unknowing.” You can check out the opening cut off the album, “A Private Understanding,” right now via its video which was directed by Tony Wolski & Trevor Naud (Zoos of Berlin) and stars veteran Detroit stand-up comedian Marty Smith. Watch that, and check out album art and tracklist, below.

As mentioned, Protomartyr will be on tour starting in September, including dates with Melkbelly and John Maus. They play NJ’s WFMU Monty Hall on September 15 (tickets) and are also part of this year’s Basilica Soundscape in Hudson, NY. They’ve expanded that tour to includes dates with Flasher (Taylor from Priests’ other band), including a stop at Brooklyn’s Music Hall of Williamsburg on October 28. Tickets for that show go on sale Friday, July 14 at noon with an AmEx presale starting Wednesday (7/12) at noon.

Updated tour dates are listed below.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

protomartyr-lp

PROTOMARTYR – RELATIVES IN DESCENT TRACKLIST
1. A Private Understanding
2. Here Is The Thing
3. My Children
4. Caitriona
5. The Chuckler
6.Windsor Hum
7. Don’t Go To Anacita
8. Up The Tower
9. Night-Blooming Cereus
10. Male Plague
11. Corpses In Regalia
12. Half Sister

PROTOMARTYR – 2017 TOUR DATES
Wed. Sep. 6 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Cattivo w/ Melkbelly
Thu-Sep. 7 – Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery w/ Melkbelly
Thu. Sep 7 – Sun. Sep. 10 – Raleigh, NC @ Hopscotch Festival
Sat. Sep. 9 – Asheville, NC @ Mothlight w/ Melkbelly
Sun. Sep. 10 – Cincinnati, OH @ Northside Yacht Club w/ Melkbelly
Thu. Sep. 14 – Cambridge, MA @ Middle East Downstairs w/ John Maus
Fri. Sep. 15 – Jersey City, NJ @ Monty Hall
Sat. Sep. 16 – Hudson, NY @ Basilica Soundscape
Sun. Sep. 17 – Cleveland, OH @ Mahall’s w/ John Maus
Sat. Sep. 30 – Long Beach, CA @ Music Tastes Good
Sun. Oct. 8 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Mon. Oct. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ Turf Club
Thu. Oct. 12 – Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey
Fri. Oct. 13 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Sat. Oct. 14 – Eugene, OR @ Hi Fi Music Hall
Sun. Oct. 15 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
Tue. Oct. 17 – Phoenix, AZ @ Rebel Lounge
Thu. Oct. 19 – San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger w/ Flasher
Fri. Oct. 20 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda, TX w/ Flasher
Sat. Oct. 21 – Dallas, TX @ Dada w/ Flasher
Sun. Oct. 22 – Houston, TX @ Secret Group w/ Flasher
Tue. Oct. 24 – Atlanta, GA @ the Earl w/ Flasher
Wed. Oct. 25 – Charlotte, NC @ Neighborhood Theatre w/ Flasher
Thu. Oct. 26 – Washington, DC @ Rock n Roll Hotel w/ Flasher
Fri. Oct. 27 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle w/ Flasher
Sat. Oct. 28 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg w/ Flasher
Thu. Nov. 2 – Prague, CZ @ Futurum w/ METZ
Fri. Nov. 3 – Wroclaw, PL @ Klub Firlej w/ METZ
Sat. Nov. 4 – Warsaw, PL @ Klub Hydrozagadka w/ METZ
Mon. Nov. 6 – Berlin, DE @ Bi Nuu w/ METZ
Tue. Nov. 7 – Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen w/ METZ
Wed. Nov. 8 – Hamburg, DE @ Knust w/ METZ
Thu. Nov. 9 – Groningen, NL @ Vera
Fri. Nov. 10 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who?
Sat. Nov. 11 – Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown
Sun. Nov. 12 – Brighton, UK @ The Haunt w/ Sauna Youth
Tue. Nov. 14 – London, UK @ Dome Tufnell Park w/ Sauna Youth
Wed. Nov. 15 – Manchester, UK @ Deaf Institute w/ Sauna Youth
Thu. Nov. 16 – Newcastle, UK @ The Cluny w/ Sauna Youth
Fri. Nov. 17 – Glasgow, UK @ CCA w/ Sauna Youth
Sat. Nov. 18 – Dublin, IE @ Whelan’s w/ Sauna Youth
Sun. Nov. 19 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club w/ Sauna Youth
Tue. Nov. 21 – Brussels, BE @ Rotonde
Wed. Nov. 22 – Tourcoing, FR @ Le Grand Mix
Thu. Nov. 23 – Nantes, FR @ Pole Etudiant
Fri. Nov. 24 – Angouleme, FR @ La Nef
Sat. Nov. 25 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie

Original Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *